Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Writers Supporting Literacy…Whod’a Thunk!

Last month I packed up as many gently used books as I could carry and attended the Seattle 7 Writers, Book Club Brunch at the Mt. Baker Community Club, where I donated my l sea 7beloveds to their cause. If you aren’t familiar with the Seattle 7 Writers, you should be. Not only are they prolific, local authors who have a stream of popular novels, but their mission is to support literacy organizations and to create connections between writers, readers, booksellers, and librarians. With more than sixty celebrated and bestselling authors in their group, their slogan is Read Local!
So far they have donated more than $65,000 to literacy organizations and given more than 20,000 books to needy readers. Check them out and remember they take donations (hint, hint…)
The Brunch was wonderful, and the key note, Daniel J. Brown was fascinating. Jennie Shortridge, who has been a guest in my home at one of my Literary Liaison nights was a fabulous hostess, and Garth Stein’s fleeting appearance was hysterical (he abandoned us to go be in some celebrity baseball game thing). Then I ran into one of my Write On The Sound steering committee cohorts, Sandra Walker, author of The Littlest Merchants (we had a photo op), and I met new friends, namely Lyn Jeffress of Imagined Future, and Anne B. Norton whose book club is going to review my novel (Return To Sender) next month when it’s out of editing. Great connections made!

Anyway, I plan on attending this Book Club Brunch again next year (join me?). The food was good, the entertainment good, and most especially, the company was excellent! Lots of fun for a good cause.
Do you have any writers in your area who support literacy? Seems like a good fit don’t ya think – writers &  literacy?

Sandra Walker & Me

Sandra Walker & Me

Lynn Jeffress

Lynn Jeffress

Anne B. Norton

Anne B. Norton

4 comments on “Writers Supporting Literacy…Whod’a Thunk!

  1. Sandra Walker
    August 1, 2014

    Mindy, you are so right. The Seattle 7 are making a difference for school children and for all of us in the writing community. Thank you for a good article.

    • Mindy
      August 1, 2014

      My pleasure!

  2. Behind the Story
    July 18, 2014

    I wish I’d known about it. A fun afternoon and a good cause. I’m sure I could find some gently used books to donate.

    • Mindy
      July 18, 2014

      It was. Maybe see you there next year?

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
Anna's reading list

My book reviews

Grief, Inc

Carrie Maldonado Author Site

Jennifer Gracen

Writer - Contemporary Romance

MaryRowen.com

Books, musings, news...

Toni Allen Books

Visiting Lilly available on Amazon

Clark Kohanek

Welcome to my site!

Janet's Notebook

From the South of England

MC Easton

Novelist

BEHIND THE STORY

Across the ocean and back with Nicki Chen

Irene Roth's Fearless Writer's Blog

A great blog for writers to visit and revisit

4am Writer

balancing writing and life

Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story...

silence & honeysuckle

a writer, always in revision

A Story is a Promise Blog

A blog about writing and all things story...

Storyfix.com

A blog about writing and all things story...

Bob and Jack's Writing Blog

Make Good Writing Better

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 601 other followers

