Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Winter Inspiration



Janelle’s Red Pots & Warrior



Some artists are writers and some writers are artist; each craft informs the other.

My good friend and local (rather popular) artist, Janelle Loewen http://www.jannelleloewen.com/ is not only a great artist, but a wonderful
wordsmith as well. When I read her writing which is filled with vivid descriptions and colors, it comes alive on the page; I see the colors and feel the textures. Her artistic eye informs every scene she writes in the same way that her skilled paintbrush creates a world of wonder on the canvass.
When I am blocked or lacking creative energy I either set up my easel and paint or go to an art gallery. Now, let’s be clear; what I do is called painting a picture while Janelle creates a thing of ever-lasting beauty. But to get my creative juices to flow it does the trick.

When I go to museums and galleries where I can stand or sit and study a painting, it stirs my emotion. I always take a pad of paper with me so I can capture those arousing sensations by writing or drawing; however I am moved.

As a child and teen, I dreamed of the world’s great galleries, but given our family circumstance I never dreamed I’d ever see them with my own eyes. Thankfully the universe had bigger plans for me.

In London’s National Gallery http://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/ in the famed Trafalgar Square, I visited each gallery room and then planted myself in a booth next to the café’s black lacquered walls, drank tea and wrote for hours. Being there, seeing the Renaissance art I had dreamed of all my life and having the luxury of hanging out at the gallery and café all day as a writer is one of my most cherished days. I filled a notebook that day with stories, ideas, impressions, characters and so much more. I revisit that notebook often for inspiration. In Paris the Louvre exhausted me – three more notebooks…. http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home.jsp

Last month I went to Victoria to see the Vincent Van Gogh film and some art. This month the Picasso exhibit is at Seattle Art Museum http://seattleartmuseum.org/. Next month I’ll be in Portland, my birth city and I plan a day at the museum and walking the old Portland blocks where I grew up. I look forward to seeing the Portland Museums new acquisition; Paul Gauguin’s 1884 Vue d’un jardin, Rouen (Garden View, Rouen). http://www.portlandartmuseum.org/
The holidays are a busy time. Though I don’t get as much writing done during November and December as I would like, I use that time to refuel my creative energies by attending galleries and museums. Then by January when I can finally get back to normal writing time, I am full of new experiences from which to draw upon. What moves you; art, movies, books, music? Read a book out of your normal genre, go listen to live music, see a foreign film. Get inspired; take notes. Then write!

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2010 by in Uncategorized.
Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author/Freelance writer

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrim

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Kristen Lamb's Blog

We Are Not Alone

