Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

It’s 2011 already! There’s writing to get done!



Frozen Buddha

 It’s time to settle in and finish my novel while the snow comes and goes in my yard. Winter is my favorite writing time and now I’ve finally found writing mentors (Jack Remick & Bob Ray) who gently, expertly nudge me in the right direction – I think I’ll actually finish this year. Please God! Which reminds me; Jack Remick’s novel, BLOOD http://blood.camelpress.com/?page_id=14 comes out on January 15th. Very exciting!
If you need a little help or a push to get your project done, (like me) then consider taking a winter class. Here in Seattle we have so many to choose from. I will only recommend those I’ve taken myself and or are by instructors who I feel are worth your hard earned money.
If you want an in person classroom experience, then consider Nicholas O’Connell at the The Writer’s Workshop. He teaches several classes, and this winter, beginning in just a few days he’s teaching Follow the Story.
This writing course will run January 12 to Feb. 23 on Wednesday evenings (and two Monday evenings, January 24 and 31) from 7 to 9 p.m. in Room 221 of the Good Shepherd Center in Seattle’s Wallingford neighborhood (4649 Sunnyside Avenue North).In addition to the classroom work, Nick schedules individual conferences with each participant, one-on-one and suggest ways to improve their work. The cost will be $550 per person. I’ve taken a few of Nick’s travel writing classes and have really enjoyed them, learned a lot and felt encouraged. To contact Nick – nick@thewritersworkshop.net
Another local writer and instructor (Mostly on-line these days) who loves to mentor writers is Gloria Kempton. My first ever writing class was with Gloria at Bellevue Community College about 11 years ago. Gloria who wrote, Write Great Fiction: Dialogue, Writer’s Digest Books, among many other books, is an excellent instructor and intuitive critiquer (I know that’s not a real word, but I like it). Check out her on-line and ongoing classes and get yourself in writing shape this winter. Her novel writing classes range from $365-$950 glokemp@earthlink.net
Gloria’s on-line classes can also be found at http://www.writers.com/
most classes there are in the $300 price range. I love Gloria, she’s a good teacher and is dedicated to encouraging her students in their creative process. Check her out for your winter on-line class or her personal critique services. http://www.writersrecharge.com/
If you don’t want to commit to a class then consider another fun and inspirational ongoing event; the Fields End Roundtables on Bainbridge Island. I know the cost of the ferry is going up, but it’s still a worthwhile event. Check them out at http://fieldsend.org/Roundtables.html#jan And remember the Fields End conference is coming up in April. It’s a lovely little conference at one of my favorite Pacific Northwest locals; the Kiana Lodge http://www.kianalodge.com/main.html Talk about a gorgeous place to get inspired!

To find writing conferences and workshops in your area check out your local writer’s organizations or http://writing.shawguides.com/ or check out this list of organizations that I found on the net http://www.ebookcrossroads.com/writers-associations.html

Now get to work!

One comment on “It’s 2011 already! There’s writing to get done!

  1. Jack
    January 1, 2011

    Mindy,You're the best PR person I've ever met. You hold nothing back and share your writing experiences without reservation. As one of those you have written about, I say thank you. I know all the instructors and gurus you give credit to appreciate your kindess.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 1, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

