Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Words and politcal rheotic as fodder



Me, Newport OR, a quiet writing place



I never post about politics or religion here because this is about writing,
which of course is about words. Recent events in the news, the attempted assassination of U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Gifford and the tragic death of 9-year old patriot Christina Taylor Green have motivated me to say something about how we use our words.

I often say things I wish I hadn’t said, or send e-mails I wish I could retrieve in some undercover way. Fool that I am. But, I try to not engage in the language of hatred and war. I believe we can never rise above our words and that far too often they come back to haunt us.
A great current example of this is Sarah Palin, who this week fell under criticism and insinuation that her political rhetoric had facilitated in creating a climate ripe for political violence. Insulated in her world in Alaska, she sent a defensive email to the conservative commentator Glenn Beck, which he read on radio.

“Acts of monstrous criminality stand on their own. They begin and end with the criminals who commit them,” the conservative Tea Party favorite and past Alaska governor wrote.

In those words that she wrote (remember, writing and words is what this blog is about) I see no remorse, no accountability and no compassion. In my mind Sarah Palin was already struggling to rise above terminology like, “reload, not retreat” and now this. I believe she will never rise above her words.

Why does this matter in this blog; when you’re creating characters, good or bad, just look at the evening news and read between the lines. What are their intentions; to deflect, denounce, defend or to soothe, empathize and show that above all the rhetoric they care?

How do you use your words; spoken and written? Would this be a better world if we all (Republicans, Democrats and all) just toned it down a bit and used words of peace and acceptance instead of anger, hatred and division? I think it would. So think about what you’re writing or speaking and how your voice impacts the world. What kind of world do we want? How do we get there? I think it starts with us, the writers, the media, the moms and dads.

Pardon my rant. My word for today; peace. 

2 comments on “Words and politcal rheotic as fodder

  1. Jack
    January 22, 2011

    Hi Mindy,Well said.

  2. Teresa
    January 22, 2011

    Hi Mindy! So nice to meet you today. Here here on the power of words. I agree that it's time to have more consciousness about the power of the written and spoken word. As another before me said: Be impeccable with your words.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

