Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Write with passion; Stirring the muse.

Yesterday I wrote at the cafe with another writer who was upset

My photo of Botticelli’s Venice

about a personal situation and wanted to leave instead of sitting down
and writing. I asked her to stay and just write what she was thinking
and feeling – spill it all out on the page and let it live or die there. She did.
She felt better when she got it out of her body and, I have to say, I think it
was some of the best, most passionate writing I’ve seen her do. It was raw, her anger palpable, her sense of betrayal poignant. Excellent Writing!
It was a reminder to me to plug into my passion when I write. Some days I don’t feel too zealous, I want to do anything but sit my butt down in the chair and write. So I’ve devised methods of swaying that energy. Sometimes it’s art, which inspires me greatly. If I can’t return to the Louvre and gaze at Sandro Botticelli’s, Venice or visit a local art gallery, then I put my photos of all the great art I’ve seen into my computer and sit back, listen to my favorite music Joshua Bell and open myself up to the inspiration that ultimately follows.

And then some days it’s a long walk on Edmonds beach, or a stroll through Pike Place Market and cozying into a local coffee shop. Other times I get on the ferry and cruise the islands while passengers come and go – the ferry being my destination. I sit next to a window and write. What do you do to stir your muse? Whatever it is, don’t neglect it, it shows in your writing.

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

