Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Enter Contests

One thing I’m very lazy about is entering contest. I shouldn’t be,
since I actually placed in the top 100, receiving Honorable Mention

Me on Neahkahnie Mountain where
my novel takes place

out of 19,000 entrants in a Writers Digest mainstream literary contest a couple years ago, and have been a finalist a couple times in Glimmertrain, but still, I’m lazy. So, I plan to do better this year (how many times have I said that!) You should also enter contests.

Check out Poets & Writers list of current and on-going contest. P&W Contest
Or  Writers Digest Competitions Or  Glimmertrain
Or any of the local or national contests around the globe that have a good reputation.
A word of caution; entering contests can be expensive, so enter with a clear intention. For example I don’t do many small local contests because I live on a budget and can’t donate to every fundraiser, which is what most are. I submit to the contest I don’t have a chance in hell of winning because they mean something to me (if I can make it there, I can make it anywhere sort of thing) and those contest look great when building my writer’s resume.
Here’s a little secret about me: when I placed in the WD contest, I had all but given up on writing fiction. The day I received the (now framed and hanging on my wall) certificate and wonderful letter from the WD editor, was the same day I received a call from my doctor telling me my cancer was back. I clung to the letter, slumped to my floor and cried. I took that letter, that glowing beam of hope as a sign that my future would be brighter than that dark day. It has been.

One comment on “Enter Contests

  1. Teresa
    February 2, 2011

    Great reminder about contests. I too have found that when life gets deeply challenging, some wonderful reward comes from the world of my work- related passion, just in time to help pull me along and reignite my passion for life. Good story.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

