Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Love Australia + free editing software

Love, love, love Australia!
was included in ‘recommended reading’ by Australian On-Line Magazine, Enrich Me. 

So, I’m back home from my journey to the other world; LA. Had a great time with my brother, but Brentwood never did redeem itself (see Saturday’s post) and remained cold and unfriendly. What’s up with that Brentwood? Hollywood and Beverly Hills were friendlier.
Anyway, back to work. I just finished an 8 week novel re-write class with Robert Ray at Hugo House last month and am anxious, with my newly gleaned skills to get to the daunting task of re-writing my novel.
I’m also beginning my marketing campaign for Romance & Money which includes radio talk shows and much, much more. So, I’m moving into a very busy and productive time, I hope. Why does this matter? When you’re a writer and you publish something, it takes marketing time and energy. It all takes away form your creative writing time. For me, keeping a strict schedule is the only way I can get anything done. And even then it’s difficult to move from the left to the right side of my brain with ease and with creativity in tact. If I’m writing travel apps or financial advice articles in the morning, then putting together marketing information mid day, it’s difficult to transform into my fiction-writing-creative-flow-self, late afternoon. I have found that I need to do these things on separate days and never co-mingle energies; the ink from one well poisons the other.    
There are a lot of writers who can do it all, I’m just not one of them. I need my Outlook Calendar to tell me what I can and cannot write that day. If you can do it all, and all in the same day, I applaud you. 
Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

