Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Long Sentence Release

Jack Remick hits the radio blog talk circuit. Today’s show on FateRadio with Lady J was excellent! Jack talked about writing; Story – structure – style, screenwriters call it layering. We did a five minute writing exercise (no periods, no stopping, no grammar, no punctuation; long sentence release – just flow about our protagonist. Read Natalie Goldberg’s Writing Down To the Bones for timed writing)

Start with prompt lines; my name is, I am the protagonist in, I was born in, and the only thing that saved me was…now write! A brief sample of the piece about my bad guy’s background:


My name is Toreck Sealy and I am the antagonist in a story called Far From the Moon where

I was born in a shack in the small fishing village of Nehalem Oregon in the 1930’s and

The only thing that saved me from my father’s drunken rages was the hunting knife he gave me for my eighth birthday – two weeks late of course and then By the time I was ten years old I could track hunt kill and skin an animal twice my size and The last time my father beat my whiny mother and turned on me I stabbed him in the leg then
Fear blazed through me ….
You see, it’s one long sentence. This piece was one long sentence equal to about 5 paragraphs.

One comment on “Long Sentence Release

  1. Jack
    May 20, 2011

    Hi Mindy,Thanks for the push that got this show on the road. Without you and your insights, no go…

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

