Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Author platform: "Careful what you wish, lest it come true."

Wow! I’m having one of those ‘Careful what you wish’ weeks. I’ve certainly always wanted to be a published author and working writer, but this week I can’t keep up. Its times like these I have to remind myself I’m only human (so disappointing for a workaholic/control freak) and that I can only do so much.


Me at the top – lost int he crowd

 I fall back on my corporate, Stephen Covey  -7 Habits Of Highly Successful People – time management training; make a list, check accomplishments off as they are accomplished and then if not, move them to the next list (the next day) That way I don’t get overwhelmed, lost and feel like a failure (slippery slope for me)….

This week is all about radio and web tv interviews to promote my book, Romance & Money. I also have articles due and couple of teaching opportunities coming down the pike. Lots of writing; class proposals, articles, press releases and more. For example, check out my Victoria Clipper article, where of course I also have the opportunity to market my Seattle Waterfront App foriTunes. In case you’re wondering why I’m mentioning that it’s because as a writer/author you need to create a platform. Part of my platform for my travel writing and apps is the Victoria Clipper blog – it serves as a marketing system. That’s the business side of being a writer; you must sell what you write whether you write articles, non-fiction or fiction, you need a marketing machine. This week my marketing mechanism is keeping me hoppin’. As my grandma used to say, “Careful what you wish, lest it come true.”

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

