Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

I Rise – Maya Angelou

I’m wishing I was at the Willamette Writers Conference this weekend. It’s my favorite; maybe cause Portland is home. I was supposed to go, but something came up and I’m stuck in Seattle. Oh well….Lots of writing time. I’m powering through the ‘Cut to’ (like an outline, but listing also, characters, location, objects, & hook; it’s a tool borrowed from screenwriting) on my novel and getting near the end, so I can then start over – Heavy sigh – by going through the manuscript and circling nouns and verbs and strengthening my style. All taught by Jack and Bob of Weekend Novelist fame. So much work. Thankfully I have no delusions of becoming an author as being an easy (or profitable) venture. I’m at that point where I realize, I write because it’s who I am and what I need to do. My words don’t have to be perfect or even pretty, they just have to be written to satisfy my soul. One of my favorite writers and persons on the globe, Maya Angelou once famously said, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” It’s so true. When I think it’s all too hard or that I lack the talent, I read one of Maya Angelou’s poems and inspired, I rise back up and get to work.

“Out of the huts of history’s shame
I rise
Up from a past that’s rooted in pain
I rise
I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide,
Welling and swelling I bear in the tide.
Leaving behind nights of terror and fear
I rise
Into a daybreak that’s wondrously clear
I rise
Bringing the gifts that my ancestors gave,
I am the dream and the hope of the slave.
I rise
I rise
I rise.”
— Maya Angelou

If you need a different kind of inspiration, Larry Brooks has made a free e-book offer for us writers, check it out –
“”Buy one of my novels, and I’ll send you a FREE writing ebook.  A big, meaty one, with over 100 pages of good stuff about how to get your bad self published. In fact, that’s the title: “Get Your Bad Self Published” ….get the rest of the story at Larry Brooks free e-book offer.“”

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

