Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Authors; Profit Sharing or Advances?

Gorgeous day in Kirkland
One of my twitter peeps (yes, I twitter, and yes, I have peeps) is Bob Mayer of Write it Forward; I follow him and he follows me – whatever that really means – has sold over 80,000 e-books and is going strong. Bob was recently at the PNWA Writers Conference. www.pnwa.org
Anyway, he did an interview with Dan Blank of We Grow Media that may be of interest to all you aspiring authors, and current         authors. I agree with what Bob says in th einterview about e-books; ‘they’re the new paperback and need to be priced accordingly’.  Bob’s view of where authors and publishing are going in the not too distant future is right on. Think about it; if your book is due out and the publisher says it’s launch date is 2014, where will publishing be by then? Bob Mayer says to always business plan three years ahead. What will you, the author have to do to market said book in 2014? Will there be advances as we know them today or profit sharing? There’s a lot to think about, a lot to do, and lot to consider for the future of marketing books. To listen to this interview check out WeGrowMedia.
According to Bob Mayer I’m doing the right thing; I’ve published my first book as an e-book and instead of spending all my time marketing it (I did for 30 days) now I’ve moved on to my next book. Bob says that’s the way to go. YEAH!!!! I needed to hear that.

3 comments on “Authors; Profit Sharing or Advances?

  1. Bob Mayer
    August 28, 2011

    Thanks for the mention and all the best with your next book. You're on the right path.

  2. Jack
    August 23, 2011

    Hi Mindy, thanks for this info. Good advice, the planning and pushing on to the next book. Build an opus is the way Priscilla Long says it. Opus means more than one. Jack Saunders called it Writing a Shelf. You gotta write a shelf. Sherry Decker, writer-colleague just signed with RCurtis agncy in NY. He wants the next books already, two or three if she's got'em. Stack'em up. Check you later. J

  3. Stephen Hayes
    August 22, 2011

    Your blog is fun and full of useful tips. I'm glad I found it.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

