Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

There’s Stories Everywhere: To Write About Heroes…

I’m always interested in stories, and there’s stories
everywhere we look. Whether it’s the sadness I felt
last week in Kirkland, (see Fallen) or the 5-star
glitzy-glam party I attended for the launch of Ryan
Winfield’s book on Saturday night, or the performance
my husband and I enjoyed yesterday at the Airfield Winery.
Stories are everywhere.
But, as uninspired as I felt in Kirkland, I experienced the opposite yesterday. I still feel full of joy this morning. My husband and I went to the Airfield Winery to hear a musician that I stumbled onto on the internet, Enrique Henao. We were in search of a romantic afternoon. We found so much more.
Enrique, who was born in Columbia, is a true master of classical and jazz music. He’s known for his soulful versions of flamenco and his rhythmically passionate renditions of the melodies of Latin America. He has performed with a long list of legends including Sammy Davis Jr., Julio Iglesias and Andres Segovia. But this Edmonds guitarist eventually realized he wanted his talent to serve the children of the world. A father himself, he has seen the anguish of children struggling in his homeland. “Everything that I do, I do for the children.” he said.

Enrique performs free of charge for charities that aid children. This man is an inspiration – no, a God-send to a starving humanity – who has traveled the world doing free benefit concerts with the vital purpose of providing grants for many children’s charities.
Recently appointed as Global Ambassador of Peace for Children of the World by the Board of Directors of POP ROX, Enrique walks his talk. He’s reaching his dream of “Peace for the Worlds Children through Music.”
It’s rare and aw-inspiring to meet another human who lives every day to make the world a better place, and who succeeds, leaving a trail of joy, love and lives restored – instead of destruction. To say I was uplifted by this man, would be to say that the Pacific Ocean was a little pond in my yard. He’s a warrior. I like warriors. I write about warriors. I will keep Enrique Hanoa in my mind when I write the bravest of the brave.  A bit of his generous spirit will be there.
It’s hard and rare to find real heroes in our small lives, when we do, I believe that as writers it’s our responsibility to write about them so the rest of the world will learn they’re still around, still making a difference, still fighting for peace, activist with hearts – sometimes with a song and a guitar – but still fighting.  To write about hereos, I think you must know one first. I’ve known a few. And Enrique is on that short, short list.
BTW, he’s been referred to as that cool dude on the ‘Most Interesting Man in the World’ commercials. He looks like him, acts like him. I think he’s him. Ha!

I found a couple snippets of his music on the net. http://www.entco.com/Sounds/Enrique/Track01.mp3

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/audio/news/local/snohomish/enrique/portal.html

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2011 by in Write About Heros.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

