Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Robert Dugoni – Literary Liaison Salon



Robert Dugoni and Me
I just spent the last two days in court trying to alter my
hyphenated name (long story) anyway, I took Robert
Dugoni’s new novel, Murder One, with me, knowing
I’d have time to read. The bright red cover attracted a
lot of attention. The police officer who searched my purse,
pockets, and brief case asked me if it was good, one lady wrote down the title, one attorney said he was a fan of Robert’s work, and even the judge’s court reporter said, “I just bought that book.” I was feeling pretty popular. So, when I showed that court reporter that mine was an autographed copy and that I knew Robert Dugoni, she was quite excited. Two more women chimed in; yes, we had a lot of time to talk. Real life courtrooms don’t move as fast as the ones on TV.
Anyway, kudos for Robert Dugoni for being all the rage in the courtrooms of Seattle!
I had the hot new novel in my hands because last Saturday night  Robert graciously led my Literary Liaison Salon evening in my home. I have 3 or 4 events a year wherein I invite local authors, writers and artist to my home, like Gertrude Stein once did. Many years ago Ms.Stein created an atmosphere of opportunities for artistic and literary connection, intellectual stimulation and fun. She called them ‘salons’.  Stein’s apartment in Paris France became a gathering place for artists and writers including Matisse, Picasso, and Apollinaire. Her literary friendships included writers as diverse as Scott Fitzgerald, James Joyce, and Ernest Hemingway. Literary Liaisons are ‘salon’ evenings with authors, artist, food, wine and conversation dedicated to such lofty pursuits.
Although my address is not as romantic, (Seattle Washington) and I’m not a rebellious expatriate with an alternative lifestyle, (married – suburbs) and none of my friends are famous, (infamous, maybe) I am dedicated to the Pacific Northwest writing community. Who knows, one of us may be the next Hemmingway or Matisse.

So, last weekend I had about 23 writers who were thrilled to meet this popular and very successful author, in an intimate setting. As always, Robert was generous with his knowledge and information whether he was talking about writing, becoming a published author or the night he learned one of his books had arrived on the New York Times Best Seller list. It was a great night. Thanks Robert and my other Literary Liaison guests. We also had artist Janelle Loewen showing five of her recent northwest inspired artworks.   I’m posting photos of our night below. My next blog post will be about some insights Bob shared with our group.

2 comments on “Robert Dugoni – Literary Liaison Salon

  1. Christine Knox
    September 16, 2011

    This was a wonderful event. Robert Dugoni is an articulate man who tells entertaining and informative stories about the world of writing.

  2. ARR
    September 16, 2011

    Sounds fantastic. Wish I was there!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

