Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Plots, turning points and hooks – oh my!

I love October. It means the downtown Seattle tourists are gone and I can have Post Alley back to myself. And like most Pacific NW

writers the cooler weather, pumpkins on porches, fog, and wilting gardens mean serious writing time.

I’ve just sent part one of my novel to a couple of readers. So before I move on to editing part two and preparing it to be read, I’m studying Larry’ Brooks StoryFix blog. It’s a great blog wherein Larry leads writers through the process. Follow along if you like. Today I’m taking my one-thousandth look at my plot points and hooks.  Here’s an example from Larry’s blog regarding plot points and hooks:

“Example: In The DaVinci Code, the dead priest found in The Louve has left a message scribbled in his own blood. Smells like a plot point, but it’s within the first few pages. It’s a hook, and a good one.

Something gets our attention early. Tickles us. Intrigues us. Seduces us. Makes us want to hang in there until the promise of that moment is fulfilled.
You need to deliver it somewhere in your first three to four scenes.” Storyfix

One comment on “Plots, turning points and hooks – oh my!

  1. Stephen Hayes
    October 8, 2011

    When I first read the Da Vinci Code I read so fast that I nearly tore out the pages. Fast action and short chapters seemed to be the key. And there are blank pages between most of the chapters, nearly sixty or seventy blank pages in all to make it seem like the story is moving even faster than it is. But you can't argue with success, I guess.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author/Freelance writer

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

