Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Honor Your Writing

Today I’m swamped getting ready to teach a travel

Fav writing place;
Galway Ireland
writing workshop next weekend, completing my
notes from yesterdays writing session with my
group, and pulling together two articles that are
due to a client.   But all I want to do is work on my
novel because of what I learned about my scene when I wrote at Louisa’s yesterday.
Each week at Louisa’s we write with different people, depending on who shows up. Yesterday was a small group, maybe 8 writers. I wrote with Beth who is a part owner in a wine shop, and who is a talented writer.
Beth’s writing was good. My writing sucked; sometimes it does. But of course, sometimes it’s brilliant (ha!)…But, even when it’s not great, I always come away from timed writing with at least one nugget. Yesterday was no different. (see time writing/Natalie Goldberg if you aren’t familiar with what we do.)
When you sit down to write (with pen and paper) something different flows out of you. I feel I get closer to the essence of my story, my scene, my characters, when I’m free writing than when I’m composing at my computer. Try it sometime. Read your scene, put it away and write it from memory for 30 minutes. You’ll surprise yourself. I always do.

But then, and this is the most important part, you must honor the writing. What that means to me is that I must immediately (that day or following morning) put what I wrote into the computer and massage it into the story. I must honor the writing. So, that’s what I’ve done this morning; captured that nugget from yesterday and now I must get to work. There are classes to prep, articles to write. Let me know if you try the timed writing and how it works out for you.

One comment on “Honor Your Writing

  1. Stephen Hayes
    October 22, 2011

    Thanks for the tips

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

