Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Grateful for Glimmertrain

Lately it happens with increasing occurrence and escalating alarm. ‘It’ happens like this; I’m reading a book, a great book, really enjoying the story, the characters, and their journey. And then the realization sinks in like a virus, aching in my bones, knocking me to my knees; I’ll never write this good, or live long enough, work hard enough, fine tune my skills enough to write the story that’s trying to find its way out of my head. It occurs to me over and over again I don’t have the writing chops to do my story justice. And then, I read an article like this one in Glimmertrain….

Why write when others do it so well?????

3 comments on “Grateful for Glimmertrain

  1. Brian
    July 11, 2012

    Hi Mindy,I like your site, you have some interesting posts. My site My Perfect Pitch compliments yours, consisting of interesting articles from a published author, plus a free resource of over 1000 traditional book publishers currently accepting submissions – the largest on the web. Keep up the good work.Regards, Brian

  2. Mindy Halleck
    July 6, 2012

    Amen, Stephen. Amen!

  3. Stephen Hayes
    July 6, 2012

    It isn't possible for others to write your stories better than you can. You are a unique individual with your own perspective and POV. The trick is to write your stories as well as YOU can without worrying about what others are doing.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2012 by in glimmertrain.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

