Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Wounded at the Willamette Writer’s Conference: Meeting Larry Brooks

Willamette Writers Conf

Okay, so last weekend while you were all watching the LondonOlympics, my brother Clark and I left Seattle for Portland to attend the Willamette Writer’s Conference. I told Clark there were a couple of classes I was really excited about and that one of them was Larry Brook’s Six Core Competencies class – I’m a huge fan of Larry’s blog at www.storyfix.com and hoped to meet him at the conference. I told Clark that was a conference goal. I wrote about having conference goals last week, this was one of mine.
Well, the power of intention certainly manifested in an unexpected way.
After a long day on Saturday, during which I worked with Bill Johnson at the info desk of the conference and where for a brief moment I did have a chance to introduce myself to Larry Brooks, Clark and I left the hotel for some fresh air and to have dinner elsewhere.

I was sorry that in our short meeting I didn’t have time to tell Larry how much I liked his blog and how much I’d learned from it over the last year of reading it. I went to buy his book, Story Engineering:Mastering The Six Core Competencies of Successful Writing from the conference book table, but it was sold out, so no autographed copy, either. Oh well. I knew I’d enjoy the Sunday class which was certain to be overflowing and standing room only as his classes usually are. I tried to attend one a couple years ago and got to the room too late – they turned me away. ARG! So, I planned on showing up this time, early and getting a front row seat.

However, fate had another plan.

As Clark and I were finishing our dinner at a local (Portland airport area) diner which I will not name for reasons that will become clear later, we spotted Larry Brooks walking, no, limping by the restaurant. He looked like he was in pain when he kindly nodded at us in recognition as he passed. I said to Clark “He doesn’t look okay, does he?”
Clark said, “Maybe tired. It’s a long weekend.” We waved.
So, when we got in the car to drive back to the hotel we saw Larry sitting on a bench outside the strip mall.  I said to Clark, “Something’s not right. He doesn’t look okay.” And if you’ve ever seen Larry Brooks he’s a large (maybe 6’4+) macho guy who probably wouldn’t blink if you hit him in the eye. So when a guy like that looks like he’s in pain, he’s in pain.
So, I pulled over to the curb in front of Larry, reminded him that we’d met earlier and asked if we could help or give him a ride.
He happily accepted a ride back to the hotel. When he got in the car he showed us his foot; purple, green, bloody, and swollen. He’d taken a fall and wasn’t sure if it was broken or what. Mangled, definitely, but not sure how bad. We offered to take him to the hospital, but, of course, being that big macho guy – just like my husband who almost died of a poisonous spider bite on his temple, once and who now has a scar that looks like a bullet wound to his head, and who now tells people “that’s where my wife shot me” – Larry refused to go.
Long story short – there was Larry Brooks in my car. Bloody and bruised, yes, but in my car (how stalker-ish does this sound?). So, anyway, I got a chance to chat with him.
Some writers aren’t who you think they might be when you meet them. I’ve been disappointed a lot. I won’t mention the disappointments but I will say that when I met Thomas Moore, author of Care of The Soul, he was exactly the man I hoped he was. What a treasure!  And Larry Brooks, not at all like Thomas Moore, is exactly who you might think he is; nice guy, and an expert teacher who wants to help you to succeed. 
Larry is a writer who really walks his talk. Obviously sometimes he stumbles (sorry, couldn’t help myself) but he really is that Six Core Competencies guy.  And by the following morning after he finally went to the hospital and got a foot boot and some x-rays (which of course, we suggested he do the night before) he got up in front of a hundred or so students, in pain and delivered a high energy, fabulous class (pacing back and forth, I might add, without his boot L). Men!
Of course I didn’t get to stay for the entire fabulous class because of that restaurant I mentioned without naming, before.
As I sat in the front row like a sponge listening to Larry talk about the writing, editing and the development of a novel, my stomach and head began to flip flop. NO! I thought. What was going on! I reluctantly left the class half way through and ended up in my room with food poisoning. I rested, cold cloth on my head, dislodged the food from my stomachL, and then was scheduled be my brother’s assist in his afternoon class. I made it halfway through Clark’s class when suddenly, and I do mean suddenly, I felt very ill – green around the gills, clammy, dizzy, you know the drill. I made it back to our room. Definitely food poisoning and definitely the end of the conference for me.  
I left the hotel 24 miserable hours later, rolled out in a wheel chair by my brother. Missed all the Sunday classes and suffered the longest, most miserable drive (Clark drove) home to Seattle of my life. But, hey, I got to meet Larry Brooks. 
9 comments on “Wounded at the Willamette Writer’s Conference: Meeting Larry Brooks

  1. Karen Cunningham
    August 14, 2012

    Hey Mindy, I got to this post via Larry Brooks' newsletter. Thanks for sharing your adventure.

  2. Elise Stephens
    August 13, 2012

    I'm so glad that Larry Brooks was a pleasure to meet, Mindy! I'm so sorry to hear about your food poisoning. How frustrating. But I bet Larry will never forget how you were the woman who gave him that ride! And I agree with Werner, you certainly left with a story!

  3. Werner
    August 13, 2012

    Mindy, you went to a writer's conference to learn about story – and left with one heck of a good one!

  4. Werner
    August 13, 2012

    Mindy, you went to a writer's conference to learn about story – and left with one heck of a good one!

  5. Werner
    August 13, 2012

    Mindy you went to a writer's conference to learn about story – and left with a heck of a good one!

  6. Bonnie Culver
    August 12, 2012

    Hey Mindy. This is the first time to your site for me via Larry's blog. I have been to several of his classes and enjoyed them very much. Loved your little story of making lemonaide out of lemons with the weekend. Good luck with your new book.

  7. Stephen Hayes
    August 11, 2012

    So sorry about you getting sick and all, but at least you did get to meet Larry so it wasn't a total bust.

  8. arleen
    August 11, 2012

    Love your humor, Mindy. Sounds like quite the conference experience!

  9. Jack
    August 11, 2012

    Mindy. There's no way I'm going to quit reading your blog. The lesson here is don't go to writers' conferences without armor and a supply of enteroviaformo.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 11, 2012 by in Larry Brooks, london olympics, u tube, willamette writer's conference.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

