Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

What the Heck is a Story’s Spine?

Today I’m working on clarifying what the SPINE of my story is. Spine? You might be thinking. Yes, spine; something we writers often don’t know a darned thing about, but we should. I’ll get to some helpful info soon, stay with me.



Yesterday after a conversation with story master Robert J.Ray (author of Murdock Mysteries and The Weekend Novelist and more) – who has read some of my novel, I now understand what I didn’t understand before; the spine of my story is LOST – SAVED. I didn’t see it – trees through the forest and all, or maybe I’m just a little slow on the uptake – but he saw it and the moment he said it, I thought, Bingo! Of course that’s it. How simple and yet, how complex. Or maybe it’s just that ‘me’ being a little slow, thing again.

Now, in my rewrite I can deepen my theme, add thick layers where before I had thin and flimsy, and truly create the story I envision. This has been an epiphany for me. I like epiphanies – they change everything. SO, if you don’t know the spine of your story, start here at Robert Ray and Jack Remick’s blog for writers. It will make you a better writer.  Now, I have to get some writing done, so stop bothering me. Check out Bob’s books at Murdock Mysteries.

EXCERPT from Spine Finder on Bob’s blog: Bob sez: The Spine-finder locks your plot to polar opposites: rich/poor; evil/innocence; raw/cooked, etc. While it tightens the plot, Spine-finder re-orders your scenes. If you have flashbacks, the Spine-finder will keep them from proliferating. Locking down the spine of your story is hard sweaty work – that coughs up story-insights. To find your story spine, read more…

Polar opposites, like LOST – SAVED! Bingo!!!!!!

Oh and (completely randon and off topic) But, today’s tip – Proofread!
For example;

Let’s eat grandma.
Let’s eat, grandma.

Just sayin’. Happy writing…..

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

