Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

I Was Once A Lion Tamer

Okay, so I’m really on the run this week, so, a short post. We all have great stories to tell….
Here’s one of mine; I once told my grandson, when he was about 4 years old and having a day of being COMPLETELY out of control, that I was once a lion tamer.
“Huh?” He stopped dead in his tracks and said.
“Yes, I once tamed a lion and I am still friends with him.”
“You are not.”
“I am and I have the picture to prove it.”

“Na-ah!”

“Here it is.” I said and promptly laid out the picture of me (1970’s) holding the head of a Bengal Tiger in my lap. The newspaper ran a story about a girl the visiting tiger liked and how I fed him hamburger that day and how he then fell asleep in my lap. “It’s true,” I said. “They called me the lion tamer.”
My grandson’s eyes bugged out of his head. He swallowed, slowly backed out of the room and quietly watched cartoons on the TV. He was very well mannered the rest of the day. Exactly the effect I’d hoped for. Now, when he’s older (17 now) he’ll be able to tell his kids that his grandma was once a lion tamer.
I believe it’s my duty as a grandparent to traumatize my grandchildren (in the kindest of ways) so they can grow up to be great writers. My 20 year old granddaughter tells me I’ve done a pretty good job. She also asks that I stop now. Ha! Not a chance. 
6 comments on “I Was Once A Lion Tamer

  1. Pamela
    October 9, 2012

    More, please!Love the photo too.

  2. arleen
    October 5, 2012

    I've always thought you have the heart of a lion tamer, Mindy.

  3. arleen
    October 5, 2012

    I've always thought you had the heart of a lion tamer.

  4. Mindy Halleck
    October 4, 2012

    Ha! Stephen, you caught me! You're so right. Tiger Tamer, not Lion Tamer – though in the original aritcle they did call me 'the lion tamer'. Thanks.

  5. Stephen Hayes
    October 3, 2012

    Wouldn't Tiger Tamer be more alliterative and accurate? And my gawd you haven't changed at all. You still look exactly like that photo. That girl holding you is cute too.

  6. Judith Works
    October 3, 2012

    Mamma mia!!! That's a story. I hope both your grandchildren are writers.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

