Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Writing Groups Are Sacred Places

Writing OLD SCHOOL at Louisa's Cafe

Writing OLD SCHOOL at Louisa’s Cafe

Writing groups are sacred places. Sacred because in the right group you can share your words without fear or intimidation; that’s freeing, and as I said, sacred, in a community that repects free expression.
Last week when I went to my group, which I had not in a few weeks, I knew how much I missed it and was angry at myself for letting life get in the way of going across town to Louisa’s Café.
When I do go I am renewed, energized by the like-mindedness of our eclectic community, and awe-struck by their talent that then inspires me in my endeavors to be a better writer. Where else in life do you get all that in one hour? Okay, maybe church for churchgoers, but for writers who work in a vacuum, it’s often a writer’s group.
When I write freestyle (old school – pen to paper) like we do at Louisa’s Café I discover that more poetic words, phrases, even complete sentences and scenes ripple out of me, more than when I write at my computer. Writing old school connects me to my inner creative, inner poet, my heart, that gushes past the inner critic, through my fingertips and onto the pages. Sometimes it’s crap, lines and lines of crap until one sentence that makes me stop and think, yes, that was my one true sentence – and I’m deeply satisfied, because unearthing that one true sentence was rare, was work, hard work, and damned gratifying.
At Louisa’s, once we’ve all written and read aloud, we scurry about, adios our dishes, chat with our mentors, Jack Remick and Robert Ray – two of the most generous writing teachers on the planet – then grab our gear, say “see you next week”…and we all mean it when we say it, and we all try to make it next week, either way, we mean it because we love the experience and can’t wait to return.
The right writing group fills your empty tank, energizes your life and keeps you going on this long and lonely path to  writer-dom.

I wondered if some of my writing cohorts felt the same and so asked them to share their experiences. I’ll reveal their answers over the next couple of weeks.
Thanks for reading. Do you have great writer’s group? Share your experiences with us in the comments section and I’ll post them, as long as you keep them relevant and clean.

short litliaz pg

One comment on “Writing Groups Are Sacred Places

  1. Paddy
    March 16, 2013

    You hit the proverbial nail on the head. Thanks.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

