Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

The Outlaw’s Journey – Gloria Kempton

dialogueYesterday I had lunch with one of my favorite people, Gloria Kempton who has authored numerous books including the Writer’s Digest favorite, Write Great Fiction, Dialogue.   She came to my house and hung out for a couple of hours while we talked about writing, writers, and all things writerly. Yes, I’m making up words again. Anyway, after she told me about her new book and pet project – I’ll tell you about her fascinating mission in a minute – she asked me what is now one of my favorite questions;

Gloria Kempton

Gloria Kempton

“What are you excited about right now?”

Now, Gloria has asked me this before, but for some reason yesterday it really hit me, what a great question to ask people instead of, “What have you been doing,” or “What are you up to these days,” and so on. Gloria’s question has energy and begs for a positive response instead of the hum-drum “oh, not much,” or “nothing” type of answers.

SO, I felt a surge of energy when I sat up straight and answered. “I’m excited to have finally had someone read my entire manuscript and offer educated feedback.  I’m excited that she (the reader) loved my story, my writing, and that she had the courage and knowledge to suggest which babies I throw out (editing) to make the story more manageable. I’m so excited about finally feeling like I haven’t been working in a vacuum the last few years for nothing.”

After that answer, Gloria was excited for me.

We need to ask people what makes them happy or excited, more often.  It’s a great energy boost and adds fuel to your endeavors, or at least to your day.

So, my question to you is, regarding your writing,  “What are you excited about right now?” If you’d like to share, please do.  And don’t forget to add your blog or website address so others can visit. So, what was Gloria excited about?

outlaw_COVERweb_0Her new book, The Outlaw’s Journey: A Mythological Approach to Storytelling for Writers Behind Bars is based on Gloria’s 17+ years as a mentor and coach to writers in prison and Christopher Vogler’s, Writer’s Journey. Christopher Vogler also wrote the introduction for her book. How cool is that!!!!

Gloria is so passionate about her program behind bars that she’s contagious. I wish her all the success in the world in her endeavors to be a humanitarian and give a voice to the lost sheep of this world. 

4 comments on “The Outlaw’s Journey – Gloria Kempton

  1. Nicki Chen
    April 4, 2013

    I’m excited for you about the response to your manuscript. Cheers! For myself, I’m excited about starting a blog. (I’m just at the point of thinking what kind of blog it will be. I’ll let you know when I take the next step.)

    • Mindy
      April 4, 2013

      Please do let me know. And if you have any blogging questions, feel free to send them my way. Who knows, I may have an answer. It could happen. Cheers, Mindy

  2. Roxana Arama
    April 3, 2013

    I’m reading Gloria’s book about dialogue right now. I must check out her newest one too. Thanks, Mindy!
    About Gloria’s question: I’m excited about finishing the first draft of my novel and about stopping and reading more on craft before an overhaul of my story. Gloria’s book being part of my reading list, of course.

  3. Jack Remick
    April 3, 2013

    Always bringing new stuff to the table aren’t you, Mindy? Thanks.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , .
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author/Freelance writer

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

