Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Stanley Kubrick

 

 

Kubrick's Typewriter

Kubrick’s Typewriter

Stanley Kubrick is a legendary film maker who I knew little about until yesterday. My brother Clark and one of his friends, local (LA) actor and producer Stephen Butchko, took me to the Kubrick exhibit at the Los Angeles County Art Museum, LACMA (Thanks Steve).

Clark and Steve

Clark and Steve

Kubrick’s amazing career spanned from the 1940’s to the 1990’s during which he created a expansive assortment of art in film. I can’t say I’m a huge fan of his later movies, but after yesterday I certainly have a greater appreciation of the history, and the art of directing and storytelling from a directors POV.  Kubrick movies, such as Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb (1964), 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968), A Clockwork Orange (1971) and The Shining(1980) attracted a devoted fan base of hip urbanites. Each film created iconic images that permeated the cultural landscape. Think; Jack Nicholson screaming, “Here’s Johnny!” through a busted-up door.  Or, Slim Pickens whooping it up while straddling an atomic bomb; Malcolm McDowell singin’ in the rain during a stretch of extreme violence, and the prehistoric man frolicking by a black monolith. The social and political commentary buried deep in his images is staggering. Clark talks about this all the time, but today I get really get it.

The biggest surprise for me was that Kubrick was the director on one of my childhood, and all time favorites, SPARTACUS. I grew up

Kirk Douglas

Kirk Douglas

Kirk Douglas's Spartacus costume. I didn't touch it, but I wanted to.

Kirk Douglas’s Spartacus costume. I didn’t touch it, but I wanted to.

watching and crushing on, Kirk Douglas, so to read the history of how that film came to be, how Kubrick was the 2nd director and how it really was Kirk Douglas’s movie, and to read letters written by Douglas to him, was a treat. And that was just the beginning of the exhibit.

So much brilliant writing, social commentary, physiological depth, pushing of the envelope during politically precarious times, and brilliant story telling. I can see why new directors like my brother Clark are such admirers.

There was an overwhelming amount of history at the exhibit. Of particular interest to me were the two movies of Kubrick’s that did not get made, one in particular that dealt with the holocaust, how it depressed him so, he couldn’t finish the film. Interesting stuff to me, as a storyteller, to see how a filmmaker brings the words on the page to life on the screen. Since I’m traveling home from LA to Seattle today, I’ll share IMAG0558some photos for now, my thoughts on those never completed movies, later.IMAG0549IMAG0546

IMAG0541

IMAG0543IMAG0555

Eyes Wide Shut

Eyes Wide Shut

IMAG0539

Information

This entry was posted on May 15, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

