Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Memoir Moments

me and lyn paintingMany years ago when I was first transferred to Seattle I met a man who wine and dined me like no other. Though most of my first couple years in a new city with a new job I felt very much alone, when he, Lyndon Lewis, was in town for the summers (from Australia) I felt I had a good friend. And I did. We are still friends to this day and when I went to Australia a couple years ago I took him this gift – an artist rendition of one of our favorite photos. In this picture he took me to a picnic (Lyndon style – meaning; very posh) at Aliki Beach where we had all the trimmings; white dinner jacket, candelabra, table linens, Champagne bucket, silver, silver ware and so on. What we didn’t get a photo of was just after we had the picture taken, a boat below us in the water hit the gas and the lovely Puget Sound flew up and over me as I held my Champagne glass up to toast. When the water stopped, I sat completely drenched, glass still held high with a strand of seaweed in my Champagne and some dangling from my sun glasses. It’s provided a great memory and a wonderful laugh for us both, for all these 25+ years later. This artist rendition of our photo memorializes that day for us. If ever I write that memoir, Lyndon Lewis will figure prominently from season to season, page to page, as he still does in my life.

What good friends and good memories do you have that tell great stories? Write them down. Who knows, maybe someday when you finally write that memoir, these stories will be important.

Need info on how to write a memoir? check out Jack and Bob’s blog, Memoir Moments.

6 comments on “Memoir Moments

  1. Arleen Williams
    February 21, 2014

    I can see you there on Alki with you silver and crystal, Mindy. Wonderful!

    • Mindy
      February 21, 2014

      Thanks for reading, Arleen. Yes, we were right there. I probably should have posted the real photo the artist rendition was done from, but, you get the picture. Ha!

  2. Behind the Story
    February 18, 2014

    He must be a fascinating man to arrange such a posh picnic. You’ve piqued my curiosity about him. I love the painting. Such fun to think of the aftermath of this moment.

    • Mindy
      February 18, 2014

      He is a fascinating, romantic and creative gentleman. I’ve been blessed to have him as friend.

  3. Jack Remick
    February 18, 2014

    Mindy, this is a very effective use of the memoir moment, one of those frozen moments that you free. Thanks for the link to bobandjacksblog.

    • Mindy
      February 18, 2014

      Thanks Jack, ever your student.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 18, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author/Freelance writer

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

