Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

First Paid Writing Gig – Still Makes Me Smile

me empress windowToday I’m reminded that we must celebrate the little things in our writing life – they can be few and far between.

Years ago I was sent to a swanky hotel on a beautiful harbor where I was to write about said hotel for a wedding magazine. The hotel knew this since I was on assignment, and they were a sponsor of the magazine, so they spoiled me to pieces. It was to be a fluff piece given it was advertising, but the reality was that I meant every word and didn’t need to ‘fluff’ anything. It was glorious.

In case you don’t know: Generally on assignment or freelancing you don’t want to accept anything appearing gratuitous while writing about a product, place, or thing, that would be a conflict of interest, against journalist/freelancer ethics and generally considered to be in bad form.  But that job was a hotel piece for advertising; not journalism and not to be re-sold, so I accepted everything they lavished on me.

What was the magnificent for me was that it was my first paid writing gig. That’s me sitting in my soft hotel robe after a massage, drinking a mimosa and enjoying breakfast at the window overlooking the harbor. Not a bad gig. Well worth remembering and celebrating. I keep this photo to remind myself that sometimes the writer’s life is not so bad.

What writer-related event can you celebrate that’s worth remembering (because it makes you smile) year after year?

I’m off to Oregon to a Willamette Writers workshop, and to do a couple more author interviews for my You Tube channel. Keep writing. Ciao, Mindy

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

