Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Tonight, Scotch Is More Important Than Writing

toes1I’m sure, or hopeful, that someone, somewhere, far smarter than me has already said, never drink and blog. Right? SO, with that in mind I’ll finish this post before my 2nd glass of Hibiki (my favorite scotch) and then I’ll sit back and enjoy this Friday night.

Sometimes writing and taping into my creative verve is all about surrender. For me, tonight, this is what surrendering to art looks like; a good scotch – sitting back and enjoying, no, drinking in great prose in music form, like this one, Kerry Noble, Hey Lover or Melody Gardot singing Who Will Comfort Me. It doesn’t get any better. Well, unless it’s Etta James singing the timeless classic, At Last.

Now that’s art in motion. Words with muscle –stories screaming to be told, memories of Paris to be relived, sunsets in Maui in a hammock, and good wine or scotch waiting to be drunk.

I’ll work on my writing tomorrow, for tonight, right now, I’m celebrating someone else’s.

4 comments on “Tonight, Scotch Is More Important Than Writing

  1. Mindy
    April 5, 2014

    HA! It’s your initials. So not thinking. Thanks for reading.

  2. Mindy
    April 5, 2014

    What the heck is PHC? 🙂

  3. pamelahobartcarter
    April 5, 2014

    Hi, Mindy, Tapping into? phc

  4. pamelahobartcarter
    April 5, 2014

    As my spouse says, I resemble that remark. I can relate to this form of surrender.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

