Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

What Inspires you? My Interview on Pubslush

Me at Willamette Writer's, Cynthia Whitcom house.

Me at Willamette Writer’s, Cynthia Whitcom house.

My writing influences started early in life. When I was ten years old I met a man outside the cannery in Wheeler Oregon. I was waiting for my dad to drop off his fresh caught salmon and have a beer with the cannery owner. I stayed outside because inside was the nostril scorching stench of dead fish! The one bench was half occupied by that man, so I sat down, broke my Popsicle in two and handed him half. He said “Thank you!” and that he would trade me a good story for my gift.

Several times that summer we sat on that dog-eared bench, shared a Popsicle, a story, and watched pigeons’ pick at fish scraps by the boat ramp. He recanted legends and explained that he was one of the last Nehalem Indians, and that he was healer, a shaman. He had a cryptic dialect and a guttural but soothing voice.

The real tree hut i used as the idea for Solomon's home in Return To Sender

From my story-vision board; The real tree hut I used as the idea for Solomon’s home in Return To Sender 

Flash-forward many years; him long forgotten, until one night he came to me in a dream. I knew my wise healer was there for a reason. I tingle now, writing this. I had cancer, however didn’t know it yet –I learned two weeks later. —-Read the full article HERE~

Check out Pubslush and join their writers community; sign up, join, get involved. It’s cool!

Read about Solomon for yourself and let me know what you think.

Return To Sender is now available in paperback or Kindle, at bookstores and Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

cover

7 comments on “What Inspires you? My Interview on Pubslush

  1. Mary Rowen
    November 6, 2014

    Will do, Mindy. I’m out now but will check my calendar and send a few potential times.

    • Mindy
      November 6, 2014

      Cool! Chat soon. M

  2. Mary Rowen
    November 6, 2014

    Oops, meant to say “I’d be happy to chat.” Typing on my phone.

    • Mindy
      November 6, 2014

      Thanks for the feedback. Let’s chat next week if you have time. Send me your phone number via BT and i’ll give you a call when you have the time, or vis-a-versa. Let me know. mindy

  3. Mary Rowen
    November 6, 2014

    Very cool post, Mindy! Did you do a Pubslush campaign? I did one over a year ago and really enjoyed it.

    • Mindy
      November 6, 2014

      I’d love to hear about your campaign; I did not do one yet but plan to.

      • Mary Rowen
        November 6, 2014

        It was a lot of fun, Mindy. Of be happy to chat with you about it if you’d like. The people at Pubslush are terrific!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

OyinBlogs

Nigeria's #1 Social Media Marketing Website

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

