Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Cheating Grandma Confesses – 5 Sentences That Will Change Your Life

Cheating Grandma confesses.

Cheating Grandma confesses.

For me, the holidays are about a lot of things – some good, some not so much – but increasingly, they are about managing and diminishing my stress in whatever way possible. This year I’ve incorporated being a cheating grandma into my new holiday regime. How? Store bought pies. I know, I know, I see the look of disappointment on my grandson’s face as I type this. But, seriously, pies take a lot of time and energy; the two things I have in short supply this week.

The other thing I’m incorporating into my holiday regime is a new workout I discovered.

Whether you revel in Thanksgiving or not, the most vital daily workout that can transform your life — any time of year — is thankfulness, gratitude, appreciation, or whatever you want to call it.
In Marie Forleo’s post titled, The Most Powerful Gratitude Practice You’re Not Doing She says, “When it comes to gratitude the dividend is in the details.” She challenges readers to not only list off what we’re grateful for –blah, blah, blah – but as in all good writing, she says to go deeper into those particulars. Write five – artless, from the heart, no editing – sentences about the specific thing or person for whom you are grateful. Here’s one of mine;

I’m grateful for my husband Joe,

  • Who through my three tours in cancer-land has been steadfast, found humor in humorless moments, and made me laugh when laughing hurt but felt so good.
  • Joe, who brings me proper English tea and biscuits,
  • makes me calm down when I get overly stressed
  • And who constantly, and for whatever reason thinks I’m beautiful.
  • And for Joe who loves nothing more than to make my dreams of travel, a home with a water view, writing time, and so much more, come true. I’m so grateful to be alive and to be alive in a world with Joe by my side for however long that time may be, I’m grateful.

NOW, write yours and share them here if you like, but at least write them. Because after you write them you can’t help but feel uplifted. My challenge to you is to write five sentences about each family member who you’ll be sharing turkey with tomorrow who may be a bit of a challenge to your more peace loving sensibilities. Share them with that person, or at least keep them tucked in your heart when they say that thing that has always twisted your stomach into knots. Remember, the past is in the past.

However, if you need a reminder, listen to this wisdom from Frozen, sent to me with good wishes by my friend Luanne Brown.

Luanne Brown

Luanne Brown

Be grateful, remember the past is in the past, and you don’t have to make pies if you don’t want to; you can buy your (age appropriate) grandson beer, instead! Have a relaxing, joyful and Happy Thanksgiving.

To read more on Marie Forleo go here.

2 comments on “Cheating Grandma Confesses – 5 Sentences That Will Change Your Life

  1. Luanne Brown
    November 25, 2014

    LOL–Mindy–isn’t it funny how we ‘grandma’s’ have such a hard time giving up the excesses of our youth? I too used to be a pie baker–my record was supervising the baking of over 80 pies for Thanksgiving for the American community celebration in far-away and long-ago Alexandria, Egypt.

    For reasons of energy–and diet–I am not baking pies this year for the first time in decades. I feel a bit sad and nostalgic. But I’m confident the younger generation can figure it out without me. Guess I better go listen to that song I sent you one ore time.

    • Mindy
      November 25, 2014

      I know — nostalgic; I don’t know how my grandma did it all. She also owned a business and worked 6 days a week. Really appreciate her these days. happy turkey day, home made pies or not. Cheers, Mindy

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 25, 2014 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

