Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

The Hidden Language of the Soul

Martha Graham who famously said, “Dance is the hidden language of the soul, of the body” is an artist’s inspiration

Martha Graham

Martha Graham

regardless of medium: Hers was dance, ours is painting, photography or the written word. Either way this quote is uplifting for us all.

quote

What uplifts your soul?

With some of the health issues that plague me, I’ve come to notice a pattern; when my immune system falls low or I get negative results back from my every 90 day blood tests (making sure my tumor has not grown), I can often trace the dip in health back to my neglect of the language of my soul. That tells me somewhere I’ve disconnected from what I love. I am a tragic type-A personality so I can jump on new projects, new ideas, the next shinny ball, like a monkey on a cupcake. When I do, often I abandon my true self. I’m learning to step back, think about it before I jump off the cliff, but still, I am a type-A, or as my friend Gloria Kempton constantly tells me, I’m an Enneagram 8 —8) the need to be self-reliant and strong & 4 —4) the need to experience one’s feelings and to be understood.….. Read about Enneagrams here; find yours.

So, for me, I need to be near water to keep me grounded and calm. The sound of waves lapping against the shore is a language to my soul. It speaks of peace, calmness and meditation. I walk on the beach as often as possible, 4-5 daysme beach a week. Then I go to the coffee shop with a pen and paper (old school) and write for a minimum of 30 minutes. What I write does not matter. It can be, and likely will be, crap, what matters is the act of writing honestly, and in honoring that honesty I honor myself, my art, my words. When I keep to this ritual, this dance, the rest of the world falls into a peaceful place and I remain rooted in my life, not so likely to float off in search of the next shimmering bobble.

What dance is the language of your soul? Do it today and every day hereafter. It’s why we’re here.

One comment on “The Hidden Language of the Soul

  1. pamelahobartcarter
    January 23, 2015

    Agreed. It is why. Thanks, Mindy.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 23, 2015 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

