Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Study Movies for Stories that Work(below)

The 4th of July weekend was a hot one! We are surrounded by fires and yet we Americans did not give up our fireworks. We could see the light show on Everett‘s Waterfront, along the Whidbey Island shore and across the water to the other islands that bless our view. It was quite a show – and all from the deck of our home.

Anyway, after BBQ-ing (because my husband had to spend a FORTUNE on a new grill) and after gardening and taking in the sun, I was like a bloated (from the heat) beached whale. Though my big 3-day weekend plan was to get a lot of writing done on my next novel, I was too tired to read, write or do anything that required creative juices.

So I went inside, turned on the air conditioner and watched movies.  Lately I’ve been troubled by the outline for my next novel titled, Garden of Lies, and couldn’t figure out where my issue was in the plot. All I knew was that it just wasn’t working. Then I watched a movie that made the light bulb pop on. As I watched three programs that dealt with a man hiding his past, A History of Violence, A British program called Last Tango in Halifax, and a rerun of  Downton Abbey where I love the story-line of John Bates (played by Brendan Coyle) —- I took copious notes that this morning helped clear the plot cobwebs that had been haunting me. YEY!!!!!! Happy dance.

In honor of my weekend movie watching that aided me in storytelling I’m reposting (below) a post I did a couple years ago….

Literary Liaisons

boondStudying movies helps me study and understand story telling that works and that doesn’t.  Though I’m writing a novel, I believe we need to incorporate what screenwriters do into our stories for them to appeal to a modern day audience. But, that’s just me. 

Boondock Saints with Willem DafoeSean Patrick FlaneryNorman Reedus and one of my all time favorite Scott’s Billy Connolly is a trip! Loved it for all its quirkiness and originality.

It’s a simple plot; Two Irish brothers accidentally kill some mafia thugs (who hasn’t) , and then besieged by Catholic guilt (of course) turn themselves in to the authorities (classic scene) and are then released as heroes of the people and are admired by at least one (William Defoe’s character) as gifts from God. The two Irish brothers then decide, as only good Irish lads would, that what they’ve stumbled into is actually a call by God to…

View original post 932 more words

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

