Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Story-telling ~ Virtual Vision Boards

Have you ever done vision boards for your story (novel)??? Well I use them all the time, but usually old school, cardboard and magazine cut outs. Lately I’ve been using Pinterest for the virtual vision board for my next novel, Garden of Lies, where I play around with what actors remind me of my characters, what history I’m including and so on. These images keep me connected to my story base and help me write what I want to write. Check it out.

gol on pinterest

5 comments on “Story-telling ~ Virtual Vision Boards

  1. neilmacdon
    March 5, 2016

    Your story board was really interesting and gave me some ideas for how to approach plotting the novel I’m working on. I’ve really struggled to find a way of representing what I’m trying to do with it and the “mandala” I’ve come up with (https://neilmacdonaldauthor.wordpress.com/2016/01/31/55-a-patchwork-quilt-linking-the-impossible/) echoed with your story board

    • Mindy
      March 5, 2016

      Hi Neil, Thanks for checking out my Pinterest board, yes, working with a visual aid helps me pull together the important elements of my story and often reveals which of those elements may not be critical. It’s a trees through the forest thing — or is that ‘forest through the trees’, I forget. Anyway, you know what I mean. Send your board to me if you do one. Best of luck. Mindy

  2. judithworks
    February 24, 2016

    Very powerful board

  3. morgynstarz
    February 24, 2016

    Mindy, I went to your board and it ripped the guts right out of me. I can not imagine the strength I will take to deal with the story you are telling. All the best. Morgyn

    • Mindy
      February 24, 2016

      Oh gosh, well, hopefully I can utilize enough of the real history and then blend it gently with my protagonists story without ‘ripping’ out guts. I want to move readers, but mostly I want it to resonate and entertain. THANKS so much for taking time to visit my Pinterest board for Garden of Lies. Cheers, Mindy

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

