Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Steal Writing Time When You Can

Though today I must be an author instead of a writer I managed to steal a few minutes to write.20160212_134842_resized

What I mean by ‘must be an author’ probably sounds counter-intuitive, but it’s true. On days when I need to be at a bookstore or an event like I’m going to tonight, I don’t have much time to write. On those days its all about the business of being an author, not the luxury of being a writer.

So, for me sitting down at the Red Cup Cafe to write, eat my favorite honey walnut bran muffin and have a coffee in the sunshine is one of my fav things, even if all I have is just a little time. Even a few stolen minutes in a favorite writing place makes a difference. It’s like working out: some days I only have 20 minutes and others I have 2 hours, but those 20 minute intervals keep me in workout mode and keep me from feeling guilty and lethargic from lack of exercise. I was going to say those 20 minutes keep me ‘in shape’ but frankly, these days that’s debatable.

Anyway, We all have work or other disruptive influences in our lives, so steal writing time when and where you can.

Gotta go —- Flowers for the hostess of my book event tonight: tulips in a Return to Sender mug.tulips in rts mug

2 comments on “Steal Writing Time When You Can

  1. Behind the Story
    February 27, 2016

    Every little bit counts. And too much time way from writing can be a problem. I lose focus.

    I like your Return to Sender mug.

    • Mindy
      February 27, 2016

      Same here, too much away time and my focus scatters. Yes, those mugs are great fun to have as gifts. Cheers, Mindy

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

