Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

A Day to Write Our Father’s Stories

Today is Memorial Day, a day of remembrance. poppie card
As our troops fight unwinnable wars 
and continue to battle invisible forces on so many other
fronts, and our president visits Japan and the site of horrific tragedy caused by war, Hiroshima I sit in gratitude for my hard earned freedom of speech among other freedoms.

I cherish Memorial Day for many things, but mainly for my father who always lifted a shot of Black Velvet to the soldiers he knew in Korea. I know that even though I’m a state away, the volunteers for the Veterans of Foreign Wars inNehalem/Manzanita Oregon
are placing their little red white and blue flags on my father’s grave and that I’ll see those flags when I get to Oregon in June. I thank them, recalling how the penetrating sound of their gunfire-four-man-salute shook me to my bones and nearly caused me to fall into my father’s grave the day we buried him. I recall them folding that flag and handing it to me. I recall how my body compressed and caved in around my heart. I recall every detail and was grateful they were there to honor their fallen comrade, because I was numb and speechless. I thank them for the job they do.

When I was in LA, my brother and
I visited the Arlington West Memorial Site
that is there every Saturday at the Santa Monica Pier.
The temporary memorial is an ongoing Veterans for
Peace’s project. It’s overwhelming to stand in that sunny
place with tourist, surfers, joggers, and kite flyers going about their business and then to stop and read the names of troops who lost their lives in just the last week so they, the  tourist, surfers, joggers, and kite flyers could do exactly that – go about their business.

Memorial Day is a day for writers to write their father’s stories, remember them, ask about the details of their experiences and tuck them into notebooks or short stories. Whether you agree with their politics or the reasons for war there will come a time for the writing of their experiences in the wars gone by or the wars still raging. Memorial Day is a day of remembrance, so honor thy fathers, brothers, uncles and sons by remembering what they sacrificed so we could write without fearing an unsympathetic government. Write it down.  Honor them and those who volunteer in their absence, today.

Clark and I, Santa Monica Pier
One comment on “A Day to Write Our Father’s Stories

  1. Paddy
    May 30, 2016

    Lovely tribute. I passed it on to my followers.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 29, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
The 2018 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: April 28, 2018

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

