Literary Liaisons

A blog about writing and all things story…

Chasing Bliss? Then Read This Book

 

Larry Brooks

Larry Brooks

Most of us know Larry Brooks as a writing instructor extraordinaire and great fiction author, but we didn’t know him as relationship guru until now. Here’s my review of his new book,

Chasing Bliss: A Layman’s Guide to Love, 51wLj-8pKxLFulfillment, Damage Control, Repair and Resurrection

 

Chasing Bliss Just May Be Attainable and Sustainable if You Read This Book

I expected another technical self-help book that I thought I’d scroll through and put down as I usually do. And since I am in a happy marriage I figured what could I learn? I was SO wrong. I was surprised at how many times I highlighted entire passages, and how frequently I identified with exactly what was being described in the book.  Larry Brooks is a generous author who shares some of the intimate workings of his own marriage – not the least of which that he adores his wife. And for a self-help book, that’s the special sauce. This information is so relatable it just may be life changing for a lot of people seeking a loving relationship or how to keep the one they’ve got.

In the chapter aptly titled, Ten Reasons He’s Going To Cheat On You, Larry described every frog I ever kissed before I met my Prince. This chapter alone should be required reading for women. In the next chapter, Ten Reasons She’s Going To Leave You, I kept wondering how a man wrote about women with such insight. Brilliant!

I found myself asking my seemingly happy husband questions (suggested in the book) like, How would you describe how I have changed over the years? I won’t share his answer, but it was a long conversation about how we have both changed and how lucky we are to still be so in love after 20 years.

When Larry writes about how love is NOT unconditional he shares this passage:

“If I cheated on her, (Larry speaking of his wife) for example, she assures me she would plant a two-by-four squarely in the middle of my forehead while I sleep, and that it would be a committed swing the likes of which Barry Bonds would have been proud. That’s something other than unconditional. And, I suspect, not an exclusively metaphoric description of what would happen should I ever cross that line.”

His self-deprecating humor and intimate disclosures drew me in and made this book an enjoyable read, and the constructive advice and suggestions in The Domestic Warrior’s Tool Chest make it a valuable relationship tool for anyone in a relationship who is trying to attain or sustain Bliss.

My hubby and I, 20 happy years.

My hubby and I, 20 happy years.

 

 

 

2 comments on “Chasing Bliss? Then Read This Book

  1. pamelahobartcarter
    August 25, 2016

    Mindy, you are more than lucky. Thanks for sharing.

    • Mindy
      August 25, 2016

      I know, I’m truly blessed. Take care. Mindy

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 25, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged .
The 2017 Seattle Writing Workshop

Get Your Writing Published: May 6, 2017

Create Some Buzz

Social Media Training for Authors SITE CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION

WILDsound Writing and Film Festival Review

Feature Screenplay, TV Screenplay, Short Screenplay, Novel, Stage Play, Short Story, Poem, Film, Festival and Contest Reviews

Rosie Amber

Book Reviewer, Avid Reader and Bookworm. Campaigning to link more readers to writers. People do not forget books that touch them or excite them—they recommend them.

Ellen T. McKnight

~ connecting through story ~

A Writer's Path

Sharing writing tips, information, and advice.

Eric Schlehlein, Author

(re)Living History, with occasional attempts at humor and the rare pot-luck subject. Sorry, it's BYOB. All I have is Hamm's.

Prayer Pilgrimage

Walking the Oregon Coast on a Pilgrimmage for Prayer

thewriterscafe247

The 24 hours Writing Hotspot and Hang Out

Elan Mudrow

The Ridges of Intertextuallity

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

